Hamilton County graduates 126 high school students annually

Aurora 4-R School District 

Aurora, 4-R School District, in Hamilton County covers approximately 220 square miles with bus services provided between the communities.  The district has a 2020 actual valuation of $1,668,016,999 with an actual valuation per student of $14,644.21 Bus services are provided between the communities. This Class 3 school is accredited by the Nebraska Department of Education.

Hamilton County graduates 126 high school students annually between Aurora Public Public Schools, Hampton Public School and Giltner Public School.  For more information, visit https://aurorahuskies.org, and  

Educational Service Unit 

Educational Service Unit 9 (ESU), headquartered in Hastings, serves six counties in south-central Nebraska  including Hamilton County. For more information regarding services, visit

Higher Education 

Central Community College in Grand Island is located 28 miles west of Aurora. The University of Nebraska at Kearney and University of Nebraska at Lincoln are both within a one-hour drive from Aurora. 

An abundance of public colleges and universities are available in Nebraska. There are also a number of community colleges, as well as private colleges and trade schools. A large number of degree programs are available and some institutions offer courses and workshops specially tailored to meet specific training needs of industry, education, and business.

Community Guide

Welcome to Aurora Brochure

The current Aurora Community Guide is being updated. Check back soon for a current publication.